Written many moons ago… before the cafe’s untimely demise…

Let me begin the first of what I know will be many odes to the Pulse Café located in between Davis Sq and Porter Sq. To put it quite simply, the Pulse Café is the bee’s knees. I love it. I can’t get enough of it and I honestly do shed a tear every Monday as that’s the one day a week it is not open.

Pulse Cafe: Vegan Food in Boston

Pulse Cafe: Vegan Food in Boston

Usually I go for the TLT (tempeh lettuce tomato) with chipotle aioli spread and a side of chili cheeze fries but last night I took a walk on the wild side. I ordered the sweet potato quesadilla.

I think you know where this is going.

It was… pretty darn awesome! A tiny bit soggy on the inside, I must admit, but the tortilla was crunchy. With a hint of chipotle and lots of vegan mozzarella, it was very creamy – the perfect dinner after a long day. And, although I cannot begin to fathom what it was made of, the vegan sour cream the quesadilla came with was delicious – albeit less tangy than the real sour cream I remember from my pre-vegan days. The salsa could have had a bit more of a kick but that’s a matter of personal preference, I suppose.

Needless to say, after that quesadilla I’m feeling fearless. After weeks of only ordering the TLT I’m ready to keep experimenting. Next up: the reuben. Can’t wait!

